Make a Booking
Best Rate Guarantee
No Booking Fee ✔
Free Cancellation ✔
BOOK NOW
Wine Infront Of The FireBest Available Rate B&B

Reviews

'Mountaineering Ireland' March 2018

Mountaineering Ireland’s Spring Gathering hosted by the Limerick Climbing Club was recently held at the Aherlow House Hotel, it was a perfect location immersed in the Glen of Aherlow with breath taking views of the Galtees. The hotel staff were extremely accommodating to all our members during registration, walking activities, dinner and workshops. There were over a 170 people seated for dinner and between the service and top quality food we couldn’t of asked for more. Overall, Aherlow House Hotel with the service and facilities they offered played a significant part in making the weekend as special as it was.

March 2018

“Fabulous location with an amazing view of the entire Galtee mountain range. Extremely friendly and helpful staff always willing to attend to guests. Lovely spacious and cosy bar with an open fire. Lodges are ideal for families or groups wanting to enjoy the many hiking trails and lakes. All in all, a lovely getaway in the heart of Tipperary's Glen of Aherlow.”

 

'Blackrock Hillwalking Club' February 2018

"A group of 30 walkers from our hillwalking club walked the DOLMEN LOOP in the Glen of Aherlow recently. After the walk we went to the Aherlow House Hotel where we enjoyed a lovely meal of soup, a choice of main course, dessert, coffee or tea.  The food was first class and the service from the staff was excellent. We will be back for sure. Johnny Burke, PRO, Blackrock Hillwalking Club, Cork City."

 

'Perfect' – February 2018

Straight away the views are amazing, the hotel has a lot of character. Right from the start the staff were welcoming and friendly, we got to the too the room up two flights of stairs there’s no lifts which is not a problem for me. The room was clean and freshly painted, we got a room at the back which meant we missed the view of the mountains from the front rooms. We had dinner at the bar food was delicious every dish was cooked to perfection and served with a smile. This hotel is a perfect place to relax i highly recommend it and will most definitely be returning to stay again. Management should be very happy that team they have staffing the hotel do such a great job 10 out of 10 for me

'Sunday Lunch' – December 2017

The hotel has a relaxed atmosphere with friendly staff, great service and food. The hotel has very scenic views of the Galtee Mountains and has a number of woodland trails. I would highly recommend this hotel.

'Secluded and Beautiful Location' – October 2017

This restaurant is in a beautiful, secluded setting on a small road off the R664 south of Tipperary and west of Christ the King Statue (great viewpoint). There are signs from both the R664 and the R663 (near Newtown) and the restaurant shows on the Glen of Aherlow Area Amenities Map.
The service is good and absolutely friendly. There are wonderful views of the Galtee Mountains across the Glen of Aherlow. Food is served in the bar and a separate restaurant – and on the large outside deck if it is not raining. We ate in the bar. We were here twice and the food was very good including the seafood chowder and the fish and chips. Prices are reasonable.

'Wonderful Walking Base' – October 2017

Our walking group travel away twice a year, in spring and autumn. We have just returned from a great weekend in the Galtees. There were 20 walkers and we stayed in four self-catering lodges at the Aherlow House Hotel which were excellent. The lodges are right under the northern slopes of the Galtee mountains which minimizes driving and maximizes walking time. The lodges are purpose designed for walkers - they each have three bedrooms, one twin and two doubles; all ensuite. The mostly wooden fixtures and fittings are good looking but crucially withstand tired, wet walkers and their kit. The open plan (well equipped) kitchen, dining and lounge area are a good size; big enough for a post walk party of 20 people. BYOG of course. Some of the party breakfasted in the hotel; some brought their own. On the Saturday night we had a group dinner in a semi private room in the restaurant. The food and service were nothing short of excellent. Very high quality, with the only complaint being, the portions were too big! Right from the outset in the planning stage when we did a recce, and then just prior and during our stay the hotel service was outstanding; communications were excellent, everything worked. Two days after we returned home we received a call from the hotel to make a follow-up review. I had nothing but praise. But I leave the best bit until last - the lodges are amazingly economic for walking parties. In the end we had 3 beds spare, and yet the cost per person (derived by dividing the total cost of the four lodges by number of walkers) was just €65 per person for the 2-night weekend. As we left we spoke to the hotel about further trips; they mentioned that the lodge were very popular at Christmas, and to move fast if we wanted to book then. No surprise there!

'Great food'– October 2017

Called here with a group after a walk in the Galtees & what a place to finish off a day like this. Hotel set in a beautiful location with such stunning views. The Menu was vast with so much to choose from. And excellent service. Food was really top quality. I had the fish cakes which I would highly recommend. And if the weather is good sit out on the veranda taking in the breath-taking views.

'What a wonderful place' – September 2017

I've got nothing but positive things to say about this charming hotel! The location and views are INCREDIBLE! It has a distinct Alpine feel to both the architecture and incomparable views. The rooms are well appointed and a liveable size and the attached pub/restaurant were a great place to meet friends, eat some fish & chips and have a pint.

'Gem in the Glen' – September 2017

The hotel is ideally situation in the middle of the woods overlooking the famous Glen of Aherlow and Galtee mountains.
This hotel is suitable for people who are interested in forest walks, mountain climbing and fishing.
Had bar food here and was very good and hot, there was a good selection to choose from. There are also menus for the restaurant for people who prefer a full lunch or dinner.
There is plenty of car parking spaces.

'Welcoming Hotel'– September 2017

We stayed in the Hotel for a family wedding which went on for 3 days and 3 nights. Great time was had by all, really good food and the Wedding Day was simply great. Staff were very friendly and nothing was a bother for them. Music in the Bar on the Saturday night was first class with a few of the Wedding Guests performing songs. Wedding meal was exceptional, very tasty and table service was first class.

Well done to all Staff and Management, we will be back

 
'Afternoon Tea' - September 2017
Just to thank the Aherlow House Hotel for a lovely Afternoon Tea on Saturday. Staff were so accommodating & professional and the food was just lovely for two fussey eaters. Only problem was that we had clouds covering the lovely Galtee Mountains. We will be back!
 
'Stay at Aherlow House Hotel' - August 2017
Just a note to thank you for a lovely stay on Tuesday night . We were down for a funeral in Tipperary Town and the staff were so nice and helpful . 
 
'Baby Shower' - August 2017
We recently had our baby shower at your hotel. Eve, what an amazing day we had. From the minute we arrived to the minute we left it was perfect. Every single member of staff that I spoke to were sinply outstanding. The friendless & kindness from everyone is like a breath of fresh air. The food that was served was by far the best afternoon tea I've ever experienced & I've sampled afternoon tea in several places. So much so, that we asked for take away trays to take  home what we didn't eat, the food was really that good. And we were offered extra if we wanted it and as much tea & coffee as we wanted also. Also the previous Sunday I had lunch with my parents & the hotel was packed from a wedding the night before. The Restaurant was fully booked so we managed to get a table in the bar. Can I just say that for such a busy day, the food did not suffer and was delicious. The entire staff at Aherlow House Hotel should really be thanked and applauded for the work they do, because the hotel is getting better and better and it is down to the amazing staff. And you Eve have been such a fantastic lady to deal with on every occassion. I am truly grateful for all the help that you have given me. From the bottom of my hear, thank you. 
 
'Afternoon Tea' - June 2017
My Dad really enjoyed the afternoon tea. The food was lovely & plentiful. We are hopefully looking forward to repeating the experience again. 
 
'Wonderful Weekend- May 2017'
I want to thank Eve and staff for a wonderful weekend for Carrie & Mihai's wedding. Your team were absolutely wonderful, professional, patient, curious and a pleasure to deal with. We were all so sad to actually say goodbye to Aherlow. I know the English friends will never forget the hospitality that they recieved and intend to revisit the first chance they get. 
 
'Great Meal'- May 2017
Eve, just a thank you note to let you know our meal was great last Wednesday, everyone thought it was lovely, service was quick & pleasant. All was great & thank you.
 
'A True Gem' - March 2017
I cannot say enough good things about this hotel. they truly go above and beyond o make sure you are completely satisfied.
I have had two dinner parties here recently and the only isssue my guests had was trying to decide which night was better, the food is 5 star restuarant level, every single dish is delicious.
 
'A Stunning Hotel ' - March 2017
We recently attended a wedding here and I have to say of all the weddings I have been to in the last year or so this was the nicest venue by far. The rooms  are very comfortable and clean. Our room had a fantastic view of the Galtee mountains  AMAZING. Food was fantastic , so was breakfast which was self service. We were lucky the weather was so nice we got to spend some time out on their beautiful sun terrace. We will most definitely return here again if in the area.
 
'Well looked after ' - March 2017
We recently had a large gathering here after a memorial mass for my late mother and I must say we were very pleased . We had a private room for about 60 people and a Sunday lunch. The food was good, plentiful and we were well looked after. There has recently been improvement works on the hotel premises and I must say it is looking very smart, better than it has in quiet a long time. Luckily the weather was fine on the day we were there and the panoramic view of the Glen of Aherlow is beautiful. Best of luck to the new management of this lovely hotel .
 
'Nice Short Stay' - March 2017
We stayed here for one night , and were pleased with the service, location and quality of the food provided. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The rooms were comfortable, cosy and well appointed and included everything that we needed. Location was superb if you wanted to explore the locality and the views are spectacular. I'm quiet fussy about where I stay and eat, but would be happy to return here again.
 
'Great Customer Service & Value' - March 2017
Stayed recently in Aherlow House as part of a family reunion . Had really great experience with the arrangements food and service. Very efficient reception as all requests handled promptly. Food really good with a varied menu to suit all tastes, served by friendly staff who made experience a pleasant trip for all. Overall a really good hotel with all public areas recently refurbished and upgraded. Rooms lovely and fabulous views of snow- capped mountains from all areas. Thanks to Management and staff for making this a great success.  
 
 
 
X
Close Content